Thank you Navasota!

Hey y’all,

I moved out of the Horlock House a couple of weeks ago, but felt that I was not ready to say goodbye to Texas just yet.  So, I just moved into an apartment in Bryan! It’s a 1 bedroom with an “office” aka art studio!  I am going to be working for the Arts Council, teaching Art After School and Fine Art Fridays at KOR Elementary School.  I will also be teaching some art classes with Xtra Ed.  Looking forward to teaching art!

My last few weeks in the Horlock House were a bit crazy.  Preparing for the Closing Reception, finishing paintings, apartment searching in the Bryan-College Station area, moving out of Navasota… it all went by in a blur.  Abby, Christy and I ended our residency with a Closing Reception.  The painting party we hosted in July helped us fund the show.  It was great to show off all the work we’ve done during the residency.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The last bit of my residency was all about gymnastics!  I would go tumble at Brazos Valley Gymnastics Center, then come back to Navasota and paint gymnasts as I watched Olympic gymnastics on TV.  So inspirational! I intend to continue this series in the near future.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you so much, Navasota!  It’s been great to call the Horlock House home for the past 5 months.  Also big thanks to the Arts Council for this amazing opportunity.  This residency is a fantastic program and I will be forever grateful!  Final thanks to Abby and Christy – it has been an absolute pleasure living, working, & creating art with y’all, I’ve learned a lot from each of you & hope to see y’all again soon!

If you want to keep up with me and my art: my website is www.erictheodoreart.com and for my Facebook page, click here.  And of course, now that I will be living in Bryan in the foreseeable future, I’ll be around!

Best,

Eric Theodore

P.S… Just a few small things I’ll miss about this whole experience, for memory’s sake:  Arlan’s runs, the local cats, finding random Topo Chico bottles, early morning and late night runs around Navasota, Victoria Park in the morning, figuring out how to ascend the front stairs with minimal creaking, finding out the Horlock ghosts are probably kids & they’re friendly, reading on the porch, biking to the pool, teaching Reflections at John C. Webb, exploring the attic  aka former servants’ quarters, Abby’s various endeavors & excavations, Christy’s presentation & use of color, our late-night spur-of-the-moment art critiques & other shenanigans, etc., etc., etc.

Leave a Reply

