Beginnings

Hello Navasota! It has been a busy first month.

They are currently digging up the area behind the house in order to lay a parking lot. In the mean time I have been excavating the dirt pile and have found some incredible old ceramic and glass dish ware. Some of these can be traced back to England and dates of the late 1800s. And yes… that is a little ceramic doll arm.

The first few weeks were pretty busy. We were able to show our works at the Boots and BBQ event held in Bryan, Tx as well as the 7th Annual Downtown Art and Street Fair held in the historic district of Bryan, TX. Both were great events. The street fair was a great show of the artists and creatives that breath life into Bryan.

I have finally settled into my gallery, getting everything placed and hung.

I have collected wood shavings from local Bodark trees and have made some beautiful osage orange dye. With the color I’ve extracted I have dyed some recycled old shirts and some wool I purchased from the local WC mercantile.

In the mean time I am also preparing and binding off sections of warp that I will dye and eventually weave. The method I am using is inspired by ‘ikat’ a method of dyeing warp that I experienced last summer during my time in Bali, Indonesia. Ill go into more detail in future posts… I measure of the length on my warping board..then stretch out the sections to begin binding them in interesting patterns.

IMG_1354

Thats all for now 🙂 ill be posting updates and pictures with in a few days. Time to go paint and enjoy this rainy weather.

cheers,

Abby

 

Leave a Reply

