On the Move

So after traveling 34 hours, not all at once but over 2 weeks, I have made it to the Horlock house. I traveled from Kansas City to California to spend time with my boyfriend’s family.  We first went tIMG_6796.JPGo Laguna Beach and stayed the night in Beaumont, then spent 4 days in Visalia. . The last day we drove back to Beaumont, spent the night, then flew back to Kansas City on April 29th.IMG_6834.JPG

 

Early morning on April 30 I hit the road with my sister to make the 12-hour drive to Austin. We arrived around 7:30 p.m. at my grandmother’s house, and my family already had dinner ready: enchiladas with rice and beans. Very tasty.

After spending the night in Austin, I woke up and loaded my mom’s car with my tools and a few things that were housed in my parents garage for a few years. Got on the road around 11 a.m. for the 2-hour drive to Navasota.

FullSizeRender.jpg

April 31st around 1 p.m. I finally arrived at the Horlock House

What a big house it is. My room is huge with great lighting and a Victorian-era (non-working) fireplace. I met Eric, an awesome drawer, Abby was out of town. The first night sleeping in my new room was kinda scary. Around 3 a.m. I woke up to go to the restroom down the hall, and on my way back to my room I thought I saw two people opening Abby’s room door. I thought “oh she’s back…” hmm… It was not until I woke up and noticed Abby was still not here that I realize what I saw — the ghosts of the Horlock House making their presence known.  After that night I have had dreams of little kids playing in my room and in the halls while everyone was sleeping.  

The next day I went around town and picked up a few things. I first stopped at Java Hot Spot on La Salle St. Pretty good coffee. A great place to do the daily Sudoku and listen to ladies gossip about their book club and dish on their grandkids. I also stopped in the public library and got a library card, which is pretty bare with only important information –it could use a dash of color to stand out against all my other cards. Maybe I will make it my mission to spice it up. A few restaurants I should mention are Carroll’s Giant Burger — they have great burgers and chicken nuggets — and El Paisano has great homemade breakfast tacos.

IMG_6978.JPG
Overall my stay so far in Navasota has been good. I’m working on a painting that I started in Kansas City: a depiction of fireworks in a dark sky. It’s still not done but I’ve been making great progress on it. I’ve been scouting out parks and hiking trails in the area as reference for a new painting depicting a longhorn and cows in an open field. I found a place  called Lick Creek Park which has some okay trails, but there was a lot of construction nearby. On the way back I took some great reference photos that I will be using in this new painting. Besides painting and studio work I have been spending a lot of time with Abby and Eric. They are both great artists with unique styles. We have so much fun running around the house at night trying to find ghosts and just being silly.  It’s gonna be a fun, colorful summer. I will try to keep y’all posted as it progresses.

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 12.37.06 PM.png

Leave a Reply

