You’re Going Where??

Last month when I told my friends I was awarded the Navasota Artist in Residence the first question was, “You’re going where??” I have to admit, I had never heard of Navasota, Texas, but was excited none the less. It’s been a week, and I have to say, so far so good!

So, what I have learned in the past 7 days?
Navasota skies are endless. There’s been a lot of rain, but when the skies are blue, they are BLUE. I just love the old buildings with the cirrus cloud backdrop.

IMG_3904

When you come to town, you get a free cone! Okay, not exactly true, I believe it was the Dairy Queen anniversary, but a girl can pretend.

 

IMG_3855

Hidden gems are everywhere! Blues Alley has one of the longest murals I have ever seen.

IMG_3858

There are the coolest little shops, including one of the best yarn shops I’ve ever been in (wcmercantile.com). And if it’s antiques you’re looking for, this is the place.

IMG_3881
thermos

Bits of randomness will surprise and delight! You never know what you’ll see, so it’s best to have your camera ready at all times. IMG_3928

The neighboring towns are just as awesome! This week we have made a few trips to Bryan, and I love it. The people in Navasota/Bryan have been so welcoming and friendly. Everyone seems genuinely supportive of each other and dedicated to bringing art to the community. I could definitely get used to this.

bench

Found these lovely little gems by Greta Watkins at The Frame Gallery. I wanted to buy the ALL!

IMG_3945 IMG_3949

And finally, I’ve only been here a week and have already found The Old Art Guy! How am I so lucky?!

FullSizeRender

So if you’re in the neighborhood stop by. We are opening this Wednesday and I’m super excited! I’ll be painting in my gallery all week. See you soon! hIMG_3878

Leave a Reply

