First Painting – DONE!

Hi everyone! I wanted to start by thanking everyone at the Arts Council of Brazos Valley, as well as the city of Navasota for giving me this amazing opportunity. I cannot begin to say how grateful I am to have the time and space to continue my artistic practice. 

This morning I finished my first painting while here at the Horlock House, and I wanted to share it with everyone. But first I wanted to give you a quick background on me and my work.

I was born in Hays, KS and raised in Salina, KS. I have been interested in art since I was in grade school – it was always something I looked forward to and my teachers always loved to see what I’d do next. When High School came around, I took every art class I could and my teacher really helped to push me and expand my artistic horizons. After graduation, I knew I wanted to continue making art for the rest of my life. 

I decided to attend Kansas State University for my undergrad, since I knew the area and hadn’t heard anything bad about their programs. Initially I intended to major in Graphic Design, but after the first semester I knew I just wanted to paint. Looking back, I am really glad I decided to switch – the painting program at K-state is amazing. I cannot even give it enough credit for how much I learned while I was there. I was able to explore and create new ideas and works all over the course of 4.5 years. 

As for my body of work, I want to preface by saying that I am also a crafter. Specifically, a knitter. A HARDCORE KNITTER. It’s pretty much my life outside of making art (but then again, knitting is art!). Give me a ball of yarn, two needles and I’m bound to create something amazing – and I’ve only been a knitter for 5 years! 

On that note, my works are about bridging my art and my knitting, as well as my love of all things Disney and cartoons. In my works, I am creating surreal environments made up of and inhabited by knitted balls, tubes, ropes, and forms. Every painting I create comes from an initial still life setup that is all knitted by yours truly, and I believe this adds another dimension to my works. If you want to learn more, feel free to check out my artist statement (which I need to re-tool a bit). 

Onto what I’ve been up to here: When I arrived in Navasota I had a couple of paintings that I had started, but wasn’t happy with. The first of which is titled “Early Snow Flowers”. I thought it was finished back in April when I was working on it in my make-shift studio/room in my apartment. But there was something off. I have spent the last 3 days working on fixing it up and this is the end result.

EarlySnowFlowers
Before
IMG_3187
After

As for the angle, well it’s still wet, and thus shiny from my medium. This was the only angle I could capture it at that didn’t reflect. You still get the idea though. I eliminated all the blue and green, fixed up the oranges and added a nice violety color (with the suggestion of fellow resident Catherine that it needed a weird light from the back). I am really excited about this painting and cannot wait to display it along side my others.

I can’t wait to share more with everyone in the coming months, I know it’s going to be a great time!

~Lisa 

 

Leave a Reply

